“for I know whom I have believed, and I am convinced”

2 Timothy 1:12b

“You know what we are? A bunch of deadbeat criminals saved by grace.” – Butch Bennett

“The grace of God has never been about my performance.” – Mike Sullivan

“I am standing in grace. I am positioned in the cross.” – Scot Keen

For I know whom I have believed, and I am convinced..

I’m convinced that I know whom I have believed. I have believed Jesus, the Christ, the Son of God who dwelt on this earth. I have believed the Beginning and the End, I have believed the Ancient of Days, I have believed the perfect Lamb as He drew me to Himself to save me.

I know whom I have believed and I am convinced that He calls me “Beloved” and beckons me home daily with soft words of affirmation and adoring love. I am convinced that His Word is Truth.

I know whom I have believed and I am convinced that when He offers the abundant life to us, the abundance of His life in us, that that is not limited to a geographic location. I am convinced that the goal of the life of the Beloved is to know Jesus better for the rest of our lives, as Paul says in Philippians 3. I am convinced that our lives are opportunities as we draw every breath to be prepared to be the Beloved Bride Jesus longs after. I am convinced that we become more like Him by His own work through His Spirit in us, not by my rule following, not by my job/career decisions, not by my ministerial works, not by denying myself.

“He who calls you is faithful; he will surely do it.” 1 Thessalonians 5:24

“for it is God who works in you, both to will and to work for his good pleasure.” Philippians 2:13

For I know whom I have believed and I am convinced that He gives me just enough, never too little or too much. I am convinced that because of being in Christ, I am lovely when the Father looks on me. I am convinced that when I choose self or sin or my own wicked heart, that God’s Spirit has not fled me out of fear of my ugliness or poor choices. But He remains. He abides, and He is not going anywhere.

I am convinced that I have all that I need in this life as a result of being in Christ (2 Peter 1:3; Ephesians 1:3). For I know whom I have believed and I am convinced that my heart is dear and precious to Him who holds the waters of the earth in the hollow of His hand (Isaiah 40:12), for I am not lost or forgotten in the wave of humanity. I am convinced that God uses all things to work together to conform me to the image of His Son, Jesus (Romans 8:28).

For I know whom I have believed, and I am convinced that He is here. I am convinced that I know Him, the God who created and saved me when I had nothing to offer to Him but my own arrogant filth. I am convinced that how I live my life has no effect on the cross, and the grace that was lavished on me on that day of salvation until now remains even when I fail.

“This is what God wants you to know first: ‘You are Mine.'” – Butch Bennett

For I know whom I have believed, and I am convinced that He cares about the way I live, because it evidences trust in Him. I am convinced that He loves me too deeply, too dearly to allow me to remain as I am, because looking like Him is so much better. I am convinced that He is diving deep into the recesses of my heart and shedding light on my faults, so as to cause me to cling to Him for dear life.

Because that’s all I’ve got: Him.

And He is enough.

 

Leave a Reply

